Who has won the most Six Nations? Who won in 2021?

 In Rugby, Venatour News

A Brief History of the Men’s Six Nations

The Men’s Six Nations is the oldest rugby competition in the world.

The tournament began in 1883 as the Home Nations Championship with founder members England, Ireland, Scotland, and Wales. England won the first two incarnations of the event but were banned from the 1888 and 1889 tournaments due to their refusal to join the International Rugby Football Board.

The Grand Slam was first contested in 1908, where Wales scooped the prize for beating every other nation.

In 1910, the tournament became the Five Nations Championship with the addition of France. This format remained for 90 years (excluding war) until Italy joined the quintuple in 2000.


Six Nations 2022 Italy v England Tickets Hotel Flights Chartered Package Wales Scotland France Ireland



Who has won the most Six Nations Championships?

England have won the most Championships of the Six Nations era. The side currently led by Owen Farrell have been the best in Europe seven times since the turn of the millennium.

The Twickenham-based XV also lead the way with the most outright championship victories on 29, with Wales only one behind.

Factoring in shared wins, Wales have won the tournament 40 times.

England (29 outright wins, 10 shared wins)

France (17 outright wins, 8 shared wins)

Ireland (14 outright wins, 9 shared wins)

Italy (no wins)

Scotland (15 outright wins, 9 shared wins)

Wales (28 outright wins, 12 shared wins)


matt dawson jonny wilkinson dan luger england six nations tickets official hotels flights rugby tours



Who won the last Six Nations in 2021?

2021 was a unique edition of the Six Nations Championship.

Due to Covid-19, every single game had to be played behind closed doors. We believe that the spirit of the Six Nations is created by the friendly rivalry between fans visiting Europe’s greatest cities, so we are delighted that Six Nations 2022 will once again return with fans.

In the end, it was Wales who clinched the title in 2021: their second in three years. Alun Wyn Jones’s men could have earned a record-extending fifth Grand Slam of the Six Nations era, however they were pipped in round 4 by France which set up an intriguing final day.

Wales will look to take this form to Ireland for a curtain-raiser in Dublin with Venatour.


wales v ireland six nations fixture champions 2021 flights hotels official tickets guaranteed



What next for the Six Nations?

Since the 2015 World Cup, there has been talk of additional sides joining the Six Nations.

In 2015, Georgia and Romania impressed. This prompted fans to question why the Six Nations does not entertain other European sides joining the tournament.

As it stands, the “tier 2” lack enough funding to compete with the “tier 1” nations. Therefore, despite Italy’s apparent demise, there won’t be any additional European input into the Six Nations.

More recently, South Africa were keen on joining the illustrious championship; however, these rumours have been quashed by the tournament’s chief executive Ben Morel.


south africa rugby world cup final champions v england france 2023 tickets hotels flights official

Recent Posts
Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt

Start typing and press Enter to search

hamish watson scotland rugby player of the six nations championship tournament calcutta cup england v scotland tickets flights hotelsgareth chilcott six nations 2022 england ireland wales scotland italy france