England v Australia: T20 Series Preview

 In Ashes, Cricket


The Ageas Bowl, Southampton


18:00, Friday 4th September

The Ashes?

Begin in next year. Sign up with Venatour to tour Australia with England legend Matthew Hoggard.


With The Ashes just over a year away, England welcome arch-rivals Australia to Southampton’s Ageas Bowl for three Twenty20 International fixtures.

England captain Eoin Morgan has excelled this summer, overseeing an England squad without the likes of Test Match stalwarts Jos Buttler, Mark Wood and Jofra Archer.

Whilst this has meant we are yet to see England’s “strongest team”, fans have been given the chance to watch the likes of Tom Banton and Sam Billings flourish with the bat against Ireland and Pakistan.


Tom Banton made an outstanding 71 from 42 deliveries before England’s first T20 against Pakistan was washed out. (Getty)

Ahead of the first iT20 tonight, Morgan has spoken of his excitement at the prospect of combining his young stars with the world-class team who won the One-Day World Cup last summer.

“It means a huge amount. We’re seeing the majority of our best team on the park and that’s great,” said the skipper.


T20 squad: Eoin Morgan (captain), Moeen Ali, Jofra Archer, Jonny Bairstow, Tom Banton, Sam Billings, Jos Buttler (wk), Sam Curran, Tom Curran, Joe Denly, Chris Jordan, Dawid Malan, Adil Rashid, Mark Wood. Reserves: Liam Livingstone, Saqib Mahmood.

ODI squad: Eoin Morgan (captain), Moeen Ali, Jofra Archer, Jonny Bairstow, Tom Banton, Sam Billings, Jos Buttler (wk), Sam Curran, Tom Curran, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood. Reserves: Joe Denly, Saqib Mahmood.


What about Australia?

With Steve Smith and David Warner at the top of the order, Australia are never an easy foe.

Throw in captain Aaron Finch, IPL gun Glenn Maxwell and the no. 3 best Test batsman in the world – Marnus Labuschagne – and you’ll realise that England need to be firing on all cylinders to defeat the Aussies’ powerful batting line up.


Glenn Maxwell (right) made a century in Australia’s practice game. (Getty)

Australia’s T20 and ODI squad: Aaron Finch (capt), Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Alex Carey (wk), Pat Cummins, Josh Hazlewood, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Riley Meredith, Josh Philippe, Daniel Sams, Kane Richardson, Steven Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Andrew Tye, Matthew Wade (wk), David Warner, Adam Zampa.



England Ashes Tour 2021/22

Recent Posts
Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt

Start typing and press Enter to search